Madey Edlin

Fried Rice, With Prawns, and Carrot.

In Health, Kids, Lunch, Rice on December 14, 2009 at 5:16 pm

The other day I was babysitting my little brothers; when it comes to lunch for them it’s normally a P.P.J., or some other kind of “kid food”. But I made this simple fried brown rice with prawns and carrots. I decided I was going to make them at least try it. They both cried, I stood firm; I wanted to have them both try it (don’t you want little brothers with a god appreciation for food?). It didn’t go over well, Robby (5) shivered over and over, Scotty (8) ate a bite of the rice and said it wasn’t “that bad”, so I took that as he can eat all that was on his plate. But I guess I was wrong, here is what he thought of the lunch.



I guess prawns, brown rice, carrot, and a little spice, does not go well with kids, you would think I would know that by now.

But if you are over the age of 8 here is the recipe for you!

  • 2 cups cooked cooled, short grain brown rice
  • 8oz cooked prawns
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 carrot thinly sliced into ribbons
  • 2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 Tablespoons sweet chili sauce



Place the olive oil and carrot ribbons in a small fry pan over medium heat until the carrots are cooked through. Add the rice, prawns, and sauces. Heat through over high heat. Serves 2.

P.S. I am now obsessed with “Top Chef”, great show!

-M.E.

(original recipe, by Madey Edlin)

(Photo By M.E. Photography, madey-kay.blogspot.com)

  1. Well you did it again…You made me laugh! I love your posts and the recipes look awsome too. Ben and I will love this one I'm sure. He's a big fan of that sweet chili sauce and would eat it on everything sometimes I think. Thanks for the inspiration and the good laugh. You might make adventurous eaters out of those two yet so don't give up!

  2. Hey Patty. Thank you! I am so glad that you enjoy my site! Haha,I once knew a guy that ate that sweet chili sauce on pepparoni pizza, yuck!I will keep working on my little brothers; I will succede! Thanks again.-M.E.

Leave a Reply

