Madey Edlin

Simple Peppermint Ice Cream

In dessert, Ice Cream, simple on December 21, 2009 at 8:17 pm


So I have a confession. I started making this ice cream, I pulled out the milk and cream and started mixing them in a 6 cup measuring bowl. I also pulled out some eggnog to sip while I made the ice cream. I poured the milk and cream into the bowl, and I saw that I needed about 1/2 more milk, well the closest milk carton I grabbed with out even thinking was the eggnog. So I ended up using a 1/2 cup eggnog in my peppermint ice cream. Luckly the peppermint flavor over powered the eggnog flavor. So all turned out well. So a word from a fool, don’t pull out other milk products while making ice cream.

And if you don’t have the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker, you might think about getting one, my family loves it, we have home made ice cream, made with our raw, whole, milk all the time.

Merry Christmas!

  • 1 cup cream
  • 3 cups whole milk
  • 2 teaspoons peppermint extract
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 crushed, (1 oz ea) candy canes, divided

Mix the milk, cream, peppermint extract, sugar, and 2 candy canes, together in a large bowl. Add to a auto ice cream maker, and turn according to manufactures directions, about 25 minutes. Then mix in the other 2 candy canes (most of the other candy canes will have dissolved in the turning proses). And place in a freezer proof container with a lid, and freeze for at least 5 hours.

Makes 2 quarts.

(Orignal recipe, Madey Edlin)
(Photography by M.E. photography, madey-kay.blogspot.com)

  1. You are truly a bad influence girl!!! That sounds so yummy. Funny thing is the hubby just bought some peppermint icecream that was…well let me see…gooey instead of creamy like really homemade icecream usually is. Guess it may be time to follow your lead. Thanks for the encouragement…now to find an icecream maker.

Leave a Reply

