Madey Edlin

bread pudding

In Bread, dessert on April 25, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Photobucket


I left my heart in London, that’s about how my trip went, I loved it so much it hurts. I was thinking I would do a blog post on Irish cuisine after returning from Ireland, and England. But unless I get hundreds of emails begging me to get into Shepherd’s pie, soda bread, or Irish stew, we are going to focus more on the British food. After all I ended up spending more time there since the explosion of the volcano in Iceland grounded us in England for a extra week. Not that I was complaining.

The day after I got back, I had to see how my croissants compared with those that you could get on every street corner in Europe. I started in on the 24+ hours of messing around with butter and flour mess AKA croissant, and in the end was very pleased with the result. It’s like Christmas, all the anticipation, then you pull out beautiful, flaky, golden bread that is to die for. But not everyone is worthy of them, so I end up eating most of them. Occasionally sharing the gold with a few of my favorite family members. But as a result there are usually a few extra hanging around the house a few days after their prime. So I decided to do something about that:


Confession #186: I have never had, made or tried bread pudding. Yes, it’s true. I was talking to a friend about that and she said that needed to be remedied asap. So I did I used a few older, plain croissant to make some bread pudding, and was very happy with the results. The custard surrounding the buttery croissant, for the perfect indulging treat. 


I used a recipe from [yet another] favorite cookbook of mine; Tartine. A bakery located in San Francisco, and owner’s wrote a cookbook about their baked goods. I used their recipe for croissants (as I always do), and their recipe for Brioche Bread Pudding. 


[Makes 1 5×9 inch loaf]


Notes: I used croissant slices, the original recipe uses brioche. Really, any good-quality bread of the buttery family would work well here. 

Fill the dish with the bread, but do not let it go over the edge. You might need more or less slices of bread.

I served mine with peach slices, and stewed rhubarb



6, 1 inch croissant slices 

8 eggs

3/4 + 2 tablespoons sugar

4 cups whole milk

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla 

1/2 teaspoon salt


Preheat oven to 350F. Butter a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

Arrange the croissant slices on a baking a sheet, place in the oven until lightly toasted, 4 to 10 minutes. Remove from oven allow to cool.

To make the custard, crack the eggs into a mixing bowl and whisk until blended. Add the sugar and whisk until smooth. Add the milk, vanilla, and salt and whisk until fully incorporated. Pour the custard into a fine mesh sieve held over a measuring cup with a spout.

Place the toasted croissant in the prepared loaf dish, cutting to fit as needed. Pour the custard evenly over the bread, filling the dish to the top, if you can’t fit it all in, wait 10 minutes and pour the remaining custard into the dish. 

Cover the dish with aluminum foil, place in the oven, and bake the pudding for about 1 hour. To test for doneness, uncover the dish, slip a knife into the centre, and push the bread aside. If the custard is still very liquid, re-cover the dish and return to the over to bake for about a further 10 minutes. If only a little liquid remains then the pudding is ready to come out of the oven. It will continue to cook after it comes out of the oven. 

Let cool for about 10 minutes before serving. 


(Original recipe by Tartine Bakery)

(Original photography by madey edlin

  1. OH YUM!!! Great recipe, I can't wait to test this out. :)Welcome back, btw. 🙂

  2. Miss Maddie…you did it again! My mouth is watering and that is sooooo not like any bread pudding my mom used to make. (btw…glad you are finally back home.)

  3. yum!! can't wait to try this, thanks for the recipe, and reminding me of it. Did you post the croissant recipe??

Leave a Reply

